USB Connect Failure to Pixracer (2off) and Pixhawk. Can't talk to any

I’ve been scratching my head for 4-5 months asking why I can’t connect to any of three PX4 flight controllers - two Pixhawk Racers or my big brother PX4 controller.No matter what ground control software e.g. Mission Planner, ArduPilot, QGround Control, no connection is made via any USB port I plug into. I use Win 7, and have wiped this and re-installed in desperation, to no avail! I’ve been tempted to buy another Racer for elimination purposes, but I don’t have a use for one, and they are quite expensive.

The Racers sit with a yellow LED ON and a Blue/Pink flashing LED (about once per second)
What should I see by way of a driver in Device Manager? Watching Device Manager when starting e.g. Mission Planner. I see no driver being loaded on the fly. Is that to be expected? If so, **then any driver should be there already, so what heading is it under, and what name does it have?.I have a dim recollection of seeing a web page showing a relevant USB driver somewhere in the middle of Device Manager’s display (?) I’. focused in on this being the seat of my problem?

Someone out there can end my misery, and bask in my praise and thanks, hopefully!

1 Like
  • Change the USB cable.
  • Download and try the CP210x driver for Windows 7.

Good luck.

Changed USB cable. Downloaded & installed suggested driver. It showsup as Legacy FMU (COM3) in device manager. But I get… “Error on link\.\COM3 Could not create port. The system cannotfind the file specified” when I start QGroundControl.
Interested to see that it remained showing in device manager when the program closed. It may not be the right driver, but NO drivers other than COM1 and LPT1 have ever been seen previously, and COM1 does not do the trick… The above suggests I should have had a permanent entry beforehand in device manager.