4G telemetry for Pixhawk

Hey guys !

I am a newbie in drone world. I’ m resourcing about my thesis. So, I have a few questions about pixhawk. I want to control my drone from a companion computer. I want to do whatever I will do, from a computer (like FPV, tracking or follow me). Every data that will process must process in companion computer. I want to connect my drone to base via LTE. So, I want to use public LTE networks and overcome the limited range problem. Here comes my questions,

1. Can pixhawk communicate via LTE network to base? (I saw a lot of example with Raspberry and APM but not with pixhawk) What are the additional devices for it ? (I saw ublox link in pixhawk website, but the link is dead :frowning: )

2. If I want to add FPV Camera on my drone for real time streaming, Can I send video data with same device ?

3. Can I integrate pixhawk with SIM900 ? Can I use for these 2 things (FPV and control orders) ? Is it enough ?

4. What are your recommends for me ? I need LTE telemetry for my drone. I didn’t chose the control card. I resourced about 4G telemetry. There is a lot of videos but nobody tells HOW ? Which control card and additional device are suitable for my goal ?

I know that I want a lot of answer. But a link that you comment can be helpful for me. :slight_smile:
Thank you.

a lot easier just to do this… http://4gmetry.voltarobots.com/

1 Like

You might also want to check out Sky Drone FPV 2. It streams video and data over LTE out of the box and is optimized for MAVLink.

Hi there. I can´t find much documentation and experiences about this module. So what are you capable to do with this? I get the picture from 4Gmetry website and I can see a FrSky receiver there… I´m really confused. If you are using 4g telemetry unit, why would you need an RC receiver ??

yes you would still want a FrSky RX as a primary flght control…they are very cheap so why wouldnt you