Yaapu LUA Fully Functional and Supported with PX4 Firmware

Alex Apostoli (a.k.a Yaapu) has an excellent open source FrSky Telemetry LUA Script for the Horus X10, X12, Jumper T16 and Taranis X9D, X9E and QX7 but was primarily designed for ArduPilot. With the use of a Teensy 3.x board loaded with Eric Stockenstrom’s (a.k.a. zs6buj) Mavlink to FrSky passthrough protocol telemetry, PX4 can now use and take advantage of the script and use just about all the FrSky sensors. This video shows my Jumper T16 setup with the still under development map interface. When it’s ready for release, I’ll add the steps here.

I’m not a coder and consider myself a noob and a novice and as such, had a fairly steep learning curve to implement. The intention here is to provide an almost step-by-step process to install and use it. The other objective is to hopefully make this a one-stop-shop resource that pulls all the info from the different sites from start to finish in one place.

Some basic soldering is required. You can read more in RCGroups and ArudPilot forums.

After everything is done, you’ll have telemetry presentations in your transmitters as below. Enjoy and Good Luck!

Taranis Q X7

Taranis X9D and X9E

Horus X10 and X12 ; Jumper T16
Current Default Display

Software needed for Windows:

Hardware needed:

• Teensy 3.2 board available from eBay or Amazon
  • Pixhawk 3-pin wire harness (Safety switch)
  • Pixhawk 6-pin wire harness (Telem port)

Preparation:

• Download and install Arduino IDE in C:. It’s not required but I like to add the version number of what I’m installing for reference later on with other projects.

• Download and install Teensyduino.

• Follow the installation instructions from the download page.
    • In the Select Arduino Folder , click the pull down menu and choose your Arduino installation location.
      image image
      If you don’t have it yet, create a TEMP folder in C:\ (C:\TEMP).
  • Download Teensy Loader and save it in C:\TEMP.