Solid purple light

Hey there guys, started on naze32, and recently upgraded to a 3dr pixhawk mini. I have no code writing experience, but i can slightly grasp it. Im eager to learn, and have been setting up my new px4 stack on qgc, and got it to all green.
When i first tried arming it was only flashing blue when i had it set to position hold and had 10 sat and 3d lock confirmed on qgc no matter how long i waited it never went to green. Searched everywhere for an answer to no avail, decided to start timkering with the params. Looked for red colored values which i believe indicates a parameter has been changed from default, but some red i did not change myself. I changed some that i felt confident wouldnt ruin anything back to default which were:

EKF2_GPS_DELAY from 200 to 110
COM_ARM_IMU from .070 to .200
MPC_MANTHR_MIN from 0% to 8%

After i made those 3 changes i rebooted and for the probably 30th time pluggin the battery in, very shortly the breathing blue finally went to breathing green, and now when i switch from STAB to POS or HOLD, it doesnt reject the flight mode like before, it actually works now! Then out of nowhere comm lost, comm regained… comm lost… … … comm regained… did this about 5-6 times each comm loss longer than the last, still not touching anything, light goes solid purple, might have made an unfamiliar tone, then went to flashing purple and did that for a while, then comm regained and back to green flashing. What the heck is going on here?

Pixhawk Mini with whatever firmware came from amazon
3dr gps/compass… M8N i believe
D4r-ii
Taranis plus

Fyi, havent flown it yet, still below zero temps here in Minnesota but i wanna have it rockin and rollin when the weather plays nice.
Sorry so long, thank you for your help if you have any ideas for me as to what i did right or wrong or am missing.

you are in Failsafe mode - did you configure failsafe?