Help diagnosing a crash?

I uploaded this log as an example of a problem I’m seeing. I’m hoping someone can give me a hint of what to do (or what I’m doing wrong?)

I’ve been building my own flight controllers since the mid-2000’s but I’m really new to px4 and quadcopters (so please be gentle) :slight_smile:

I calibrated the mags, gyros, and accelerometers. I can arm and take off in stabilize mode and fly around all day (drifting in the wind, but manually correcting.) Everything looks good on qgc, the little artificial horizon moves correctly if I pick up the quadcopter (preflight) and bank or pitch it. The compass points in approximately the right direction.

However, once in flight, if I flip over into position hold or mission modes, the EKF immediately resets, craps out, and the quad goes scooting across the field in a random direction. I can flip back into stabilize mode and mostly land safely (although it bounced and flipped on the flight I am uploading here.)

I’m confused why the ekf would be super great until the moment I flip into a position hold mode, and wait until then to completely barf? (I don’t know a lot about px4 internals, but I would have guess the ekf is just always running and doesn’t care what flight mode it is in?)

Anyway, I appreciate any help or insight anyone can offer (quad is an older f450 kit build with genuine dji motors and props.)

Is there any other info I can provide that would help understand what’s going on?

Thanks in advance,

Curt.

Hi Curtis!

Just a couple of clues that could help you, altought I’m not 1.11 and loiter user.

1. What auto-pilot are you using?
  2. What GPS are you using?

The only magnetometer recognized (MAG0 ID:327690) seems to be affected by the electromagnetic enviroment.

You can list al the magnetometers in the console of QGC using:
listener sensor_mag -i 0
listener sensor_mag -i 1
listener sensor_mag -i 2
…