Free Beer for Volunteer - Mentor Request for Pixhawk VTOL setup and troubleshooting

Hi All!

I’m new to the forum and the larger drone community. I recently purchased a Pixhawk PX4 2.4.8 kit, and plan to build a VTOL drone so I can fly my uncle a bottle of Blatz beer. I’m stuck getting the drone calibrated properly because I’ve run into this issue (Detected 0 radio channels. To operate PX4, you need at least 5 channels - #4 by Sparky002) where my radios aren’t being detected by QGroundControl. I’ve tried the troubleshooting steps from that topic, but to no avail. I’m doing the setup from a Mac, so I’m following the instructions here (Ground Control on a Mac - Ground Control Software - ArduPilot Discourse) to complete the setup.

Since I’ve gotten stuck many times throughout the setup steps, I’m looking for a mentor who 1) can help me usher my project through the finish line and 2) likes beer. I’m a software developer and Madison, Wisconsin resident and we’ve got some seriously good beer with your name on it.

Any takers?

Sincere thanks in advance for your consideration,
–Ben

• What receiver/radio system are you using? I prefer SBUS capable and find it the most reliable and consistent compatibility.
  • I like to start with no peripherals. In QGC parameters, change the following:
    • CBRK_IO_SAFETY = 22027
    • CBRK_USB_CHK = 197848
    • CBRK_SUPPLY_CHK = 894281

Good luck.

I’m using an FPV Radio Telemetry Air Module and an FPV Radio Telemetry Ground Module. They came in a kit on Amazon. The Air Module unit is plugged into one of the Pixhawk’s telemetry ports; it flashes both green and red lights every quarter second or so.

I adjusted the 3 parameters you referenced in QGC, but, unfortunately, to no avail.

Any other ideas?