Connection problem with jmavsim

hi i am new to drone technology. i am using pixhawk board and want to simulate this using jmavsim and qgroundcontrrol.i dont have rc transmitter and receiver so i was installing jmavsim and i followed the same method as mention in the link https://pixhawk.org/dev/hil/jmavsim.but when at last i tried to run run i found thes error

anuj.gupta@CPU-291U:~/Downloads/project/jMAVSim$ java -Djava.ext.dirs= -cp lib/*:out/production/jmavsim.jar me.drton.jmavsim.Simulator -serial /dev/tty.usbmodem1 921600 -qgc
Options parsed, starting Sim.
Starting GUI…
3D [dev] 1.6.0-pre12-daily-experimental daily

libEGL warning: failed to create a pipe screen for i965
ERROR: Failed to open MAV port: jssc.SerialPortException: Port name - /dev/tty.usbmodem1; Method name - openPort(); Exception type - Port not found.

please help
thanks

after trying with some other commands jmavsim starts working but it doesnot connect with qgc showing the warning
thanks

Hi @Anuj_Kumar_Gupta

The link you mentioned is outdated, please follow these instructions:
http://dev.px4.io/simulation-sitl.html
http://dev.px4.io/simulation-hitl.html

Can you provide the full output & commands you are using?

Thanks for the reply …but had already gone through with this link
The full output is shown below
anuj.gupta@CPU-291U:~/Downloads/project/jMAVSim$ java -Djava.ext.dirs= -cp lib/*:out/production/jmavsim.jar me.drton.jmavsim.Simulator -udp 127.0.0.1:14550
Options parsed, starting Sim.
Starting GUI…
3D [dev] 1.6.0-pre12-daily-experimental daily

Init MAVLink

so why this warning came and jmavsim works fine without qgc…So is there any need of qgc and pixhawk???
thanks

The warning is related to your graphics driver, but if jmavsim shows up correctly, you can ignore it.
And you don’t need QGC or a pixhawk if you just want to do simulation. You need QGC for example if you want to plan & simulate a mission. So it depends on your goals what you need.

1 Like