Beginner question regarding AUX & MAIN ports

Hi,

I started to get in touch with Pixhawk 4 and digged through the documentation.
This is the first project I’m doing in this huge field and I’m already wondering about certain things and struggling in answering my own basic questions.

What’s the difference between the AUX & MAIN ports and why are they treated differently, especially since - at least according to what I have read in the documentation - both types can be used to drive servos/motors or to be more specific, both seem to be able to perform the same tasks?

Maybe I’m missing something, I’d appreciate it if someone can point me to the part in the documentation or link me further information on the topic

Best regards

1 Like

@hamishwillee do we have that somewhere in the docs? I can’t find it.

Hi, are you talking about the physical connections for main and aux pwm, or the software allocations?
Im very new to this and the following is all from memory. But here goes
If you are talking about the power module connections then its all kind of based around copter. The pwm cables from the flight controller connect to io channel input (main) and fmu channel input (aux) of the power module. From there the io channels are routed to pins labelled m1 to m8 which have been made to write to your esc’s (near the power distribution pads for up to 8 escs.)
Then the fmu channels from the fmu input connector of the power module (aux) are routed to the right angle pin headers for ch1 through 8.
This is supposed to be for aux items like gear servo, gimbal servos etc. On your octocopter.
So main is motors and aux is servo in that platform.
But pwm is the same stuff and there’s no reason esc’s cant be connected to maim and servos to aux.
It was just intended for some big octocopter with extras all over it.