Vehicle Attitude Drift - Snapdragon Flight

If the snapdragon flight is not calibrated correctly with the vehicle attitude data drift? I’m simply flying a lawn motor pattern and am noticing drift in the flight logs for the roll, pitch, and yaw.

Is the attitude information realtime? It looks like there is either some lag or it takes the sometime for the data to find a solution. While the just sitting on the ground and rotating the copter 90 degrees it takes a while for the yaw to settle. Is this normal? I will fly it this afternoon and provide flight data.

Here are two sd2log plots of the flights. You can clearly see the yaw drift in the first data set. during the straight legs of the run you can see a slope in the yaw reading. I’m confident that the aircraft does not have a constant rate yaw during each leg. Any ideas?

1 - http://logs.uaventure.com/view/L3fyKhDwTX2Lswy7reLEx4
2 - http://logs.uaventure.com/view/oCmhaLxjSiL45JnkQZ87zT

First let me say that I am not an expert at tuning the PX4 flight stack, beyond basic vehicle stability and control authority. Hopefully someone else can contribute their insights as well.

I looked at the changes in the magnetic field strength, and it correctly corresponds to the point in the vehicle trajectory where it rotates to begin the return path.

Are you using the onboard mag? If so, I would definitely recommend performing a calibration sequence from within QGC.

The onboard mag is more vulnerable to external noise sources than an external mag mounted away from the vehicle electronics.

Is the board precisely mounted relative to the front of the aircraft? Just wondering if it is slightly off, but I don’t know if this would cause yaw drift.