Twin motor differential thrust

Hi. I have a question about actuator tab and control allocation to understand how can I build a generic fixed wing airframe with twin motor. And how can I enable differential thrust for it. I have some experience with dual motor tailsitter and generic fixed wing airframes. For dual motor tailsitter PX4 using differential thrust by default and it was working quite good.
Now I want to build an airframe with twin motor on wings like FT Crusier model(FT Cruiser - Build | Flite Test). How should I configure actuator tab. I have two idea :
1)Should I choose generic aircraft and add one more motor. After that enable VT_FW_DIFTHR_EN parameter? Like this:

2)Can I choose dual motor tailsitter and add it the generic fixed wing control surfaces ? Like this:

As I understand from source code differential thrust effect handling in fixed wing rate controller and same for all vehicle types as long as flying in fixed wing mode. Differential thrust questions in forum a little bit outdated and not detailed enough. Before start building I’m trying to collect foreknowledge as much as possible. Thanks for your helps.

3 Likes

Do you have any recommendations @sfuhrer @bkueng?

1 Like

Hi again. I tried without differential thrust without any problem but in log files it is quite obvious there is a little bit difference between motor rpm values during flight with same motor same prop(CW CCW) and same ESCs. (If I’m not wrong about interpreting the plot.)

Due to scale of the vehicle I think this difference compansated with rudder. Again in log data rudder always deflecting into one side. I don’t sure about that this deflection occured due to continuous loiter movement or other reasons.(Like adverse yaw compensation but FW_RLL_TO_YAW_FF parameter was 0.) I guess I should take a log again along a straight level flight.