Search and Rescue Quad - Please help a noob!

Hi everyone,

I’m new to the ecosystem and am needing some help getting a quad mission-ready asap. I understand that there’s probably ample documentation for all of my questions, but we had a change of plans with equipment and I don’t have time to research everything before we head out for a search, unfortunately.

We’re running a Cube Orange w/ an original Herelink RC. My first question is about camera triggering. We have a basic Sony Multiport relay, but can you walk us through how to set things up and get the parameters set correctly (using QGC)?

We’re also hoping to supply camera power to 2 cameras from the main flight battery. We bought XT60 adapters that give us 5v outputs from the flight battery, but is it possible to power the cameras directly from the Cube instead? Or at least 1 of them?

Many thanks!

First of all what firmware do you use?
Given that you’ve posted this question on this forum and not the ArduPilot forum I assume you have a version of PX - right?
If so I can’t be of much help as I’m working with ArduPilot on my system. - Hopefully someone else on here might help you instead.

Powering anything from your Flight-Controller is a bad idea as those are not made for that and would also increase risk of interference.
Using a relay is also bad as they often cause a voltage spike. Use electronic switch instead or depending on camera.
Here is a basic homemade solution using a transistor

More info here:
https://www.coptercam.tech/technical-article-ardupilot-integration-with-sony-multi-port-usb-equipped-cameras/

→ Just noticed you’ve already received an answer on the ArduPilot forum. Will stop replying to this post.

Hi Karl,

Thanks for your reply. I posted here because I find it confusing as a newcomer to understand the relationship between these different platforms - just looking for maximum visibility so we can get pointed in the right direction asap.