Adding a camera to IRIS base model

Recently I’ve been working on getting a basic camera added to the base IRIS model for SITL so I can stream video to QGroundControl, as well as being able to launch multiple vehicles once the model was successfully modified. I was able to find a few resources for adding a ROS camera to an IRIS model and view the stream in rviz (How to add a ROS camera to IRIS for gazebo simulation?), but this did not do what I wanted. Most of these steps are adapted from that link, so thanks to everybody who participated there. I’ve written up the steps I took to get this working in case anyone else is trying a similar thing. I am still pretty new to PX4/ROS so this may not be the best explanation or might cause other issues during development, but hopefully this gets you started.

Installed software:

• PX4 master branch as of June 2020 (I think 1.10.x)
  • Gazebo 9
  • No ROS(1) installation
  • ROS2 Eloquent (shouldn’t be needed for this method, but I have it installed for other parts of the project)

Creating GStreamer camera macro

I created a new macro definition in Tools/sitl_gazebo/models/rotors_description/urdf/component_snippets.xacro to use the Gazebo camera plugin (libgazebo_gst_camera_plugin.so) instead of the ROS camera plugin (libgazebo_ros_camera.so). I did this by copying the entire camera_macro and naming the copy gst_camera_macro. Note that I left out a lot of information here, but if you copied directly from camera_macro it should work.

• Line 5: Add a parameter to control the UDP port of the stream
  • Line 15: Change plugin filename to be libgazebo_gst_camera_plugin.so
  • Line 16: Add the udpPort to the be a child of the plugin tag
<!-- Macro to add a GStreamer camera. -->
  1 <xacro:macro name="gst_camera_macro"
  2   params="namespace parent_link camera_suffix frame_rate
  3   horizontal_fov image_width image_height image_format min_distance
  4   max_distance noise_mean noise_stddev enable_visual *cylinder *origin