A guide to compile QGC Android

Hi I am new to QT and fairly new to programming as well. So sorry if I am not understanding the jargon. Now coming to the issue.
I am trying to compile the QgroundControl code for android.

Things I have done:
I have set up VDM in android studio
I have set up the android environment (JDK 21 NDK 21.3.6528147 SDK 11)

When compiling qmake and make steps seems to get excecuted properly without errors.
Problem is the Build Android APK
I have mostly followed all instructions in Overview · QGroundControl Developer Guide and the desktop version compiles no problem

I am really lost here, would be nice if anyone can help/point me to a helpful source

Yeah, good luck there. I’ve been trying to compile the android version for many months with only limited success.
Fact is the whole Android side is completely outdated:

• Mismatch of Java version required from build to what is in use these days.
  • Outdated Gradle version.
  • Finally you’ll get a password related error when trying to build the APK package. (Once again due to mismatch of Java versions)

There are many such reports on here with some helpful answers but haven’t found anything providing full step by step guidance.

My own work-around:
Building Android version in QT until same error as you’ve got pops up. Then closing project and re-opening in Android Studio. This will usually trigger a Gradle upgrade which I proceed with and then finalize the APK build. - But sometimes the essential Android build package hasn’t been created in QT so this work-around won’t work either.

(Desktop versions build easier)

Hey Karl,

Thank you for your reply.
If you dont mind me asking what versions of everything you use to compile it after the gradle update.
Could you maybe post a picture of your preferences page and “build apk” details in QT

Thank you

The gradle update happens in Android Studio. From my experience don’t go past 7.6