Trouble building QGC from source

Hi all, I have built QGC from source using Qt Creator 5.7.1 without it throwing any errors, but when I try to run the program (running “./qgroundcontrol-start.sh” or “./QGroundControl” at the command line in the debug folder of the build directory), the terminal gives the following message: “QML debugging is enabled. Only use this in a safe environment.” Nothing else happens.

Should I disable QML debugging, whatever that may be, and if so, how? There is no “release” folder to be found–though I just wanted to build it, not debug it… I have never used Qt before, so any advice beyond the basic instructions provided here would be very much appreciated!

EDIT: I found the “Build Release” option in Qt, but having compiled a release version without errors and attempted to run it, I get… absolutely nothing. No errors, just… nothing!

Hi Anna, hi all,

My name name is Sergio. I am new with qgroundcontrol and ardupilot. I cannot help you by the moment because I am an step behind you. I would be very grateful if you could help me.
I am trying to build qgroundcontrol without success. I have downloaded and installed visual studio 2015 and qt version5.7.1. I have opening the qgroundcontrol.pro project, but when I build the project I get the next error:
“rc” no se reconoce como un comando interno o externo,
programa o archivo por lotes ejecutable.
NMAKE : fatal error U1077: ‘rc’ : return code ‘0x1’
Stop.
NMAKE : fatal error U1077: ‘“C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\VC\BIN\nmake.exe”’ : return code ‘0x2’
Stop.
17:44:21: The process “C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio 14.0\VC\BIN\nmake.exe” exited with code 2.
Error while building/deploying project qgroundcontrol (kit: Desktop Qt 5.7.1 MSVC2015 32bit)
The kit Desktop Qt 5.7.1 MSVC2015 32bit has configuration issues which might be the root cause for this problem.
When executing step “Make”