Quick, easy and useful (at least, for me) question

Hi everyone, hope you are doing it all right these days.

I don’t use to ask question with no previous research, but as I am totally new in this world and there is a tones of electronic words, terms and info (english is not my language) I would rather like to seek for some help and save up time (and money), so please don’t get me wrong.

I will use a drone to take pictures in farming. I was thinking “connecting” the Pixhawk controller to computer, set the path (and all configuration that goes with it) to take pictures, release the drone, wait for it to do the job, get back and download the pictures. As far as I can see, no communication will be necessary between Pixhawk controller and computer during the trip.

My question is: is that possible? In that way, I won’t need to get a radio controller, nor “RC receiver and compatible transmitter” (shown as “required components” in QAV250, for example), right?

I need to know before buying, if what I buy is enough or if I am missing something. Is not that easy in my country to get stuff from outside, and if I make a mistake in my purchase I may get stuck for a couple of months, until I get following shipment.

Any help will be more than appreciate, really. And if you need further information, please let me know.

Thanks for you time and patience, Juan.

It is possible, yes, but there are a couple of reasons why it might be a bad idea:

RC:

1. For first tests you will have to fly manually using some RC. If you start with autonomous missions with a new drone (prototype, not finished product) right from the start you’re likely to run into issues which require manual intervention.
  2. Now for later normal operation you might not really need RC, however, you might if anything goes wrong. Also, bear in mind that some regulations require you to be able to manually take over.

Telemetry: