Video Processing on Companion Computer

Hello all,

I am fairly new to MAVSDK and PX4, and have been asked to help with a system that seems like it should be fairly common, but lack of experience is making this difficult. The goal of the system is to have a quadcopter running a mission with a small pc on the side running a camera and some computer vision algorithms. The small pc would be physically attached to the quadcopter, and needs to be able to take control under certain circumstances. Additionally, we should be able to send images to the ground station for manual inspection.

My working assumptions are that the pc on the quadcopter is considered a ‘companion’ and any instructions it sends to the copter are called ‘offboard’. It also seems like I can send images to the ground station using standard file transfer protocols because everything is WiFI connected, and I don’t need to use MAVLink FTP unless I am sending files to the autopilot system. Does this seem correct or am I missing something critical?

Sorry for the vagueness, I have yet to receive hardware and am working entirely in simulation (px4_sitl, jmavsim/airsim, and QGroundControl). Any suggested reading/corrections/documentation would be greatly appreciated.

Yes you’re right you can talk with PX4 using a companion computer (Raspberry pi or other). MAVSDK will give you simples functions to be able to talk to the FCU: offboard, takeoff, kill, get parameters, etc…

For the images I guess you have many solutions. Your camera could be connected directly to the receiver in the drone so that you can get the image in real time on your remote controller. Not sure what your final goal here

1 Like