PX4 Simulation model dependent on world plugin

Hello all,

I am working on a simulation of an unmanned surface vehicle. I’m using Ubuntu 22.04, ROS2 Humble, the head of the PX4 repository, and gz sim from gz garden (formerly ignition). I am pretty new to this architecture and I’ve mainly been tweaking the examples included from PX4.

I’ve tested my model sdf file independently in gz sim and I can confirm the buoyancy and wind plugins are working as intended. My problem occurs when trying to make the px4_sitl target. I’ve hijacked the x500 example and changed all of the relevant model.sdf, world.sdf, config, and cmake files from the drone and replaced with my files.

My world file uses the gz::sim::systems::Buoyancy plugin to apply graded buoyancy to my model, which works when I include the model inside of the world file with gz sim. Since PX4 is loading the world and model files separately, it seems the world can’t see the links of the model to apply buoyancy forces to it. In the documentation I’ve seen some world-dependent models such as the boat and the uuv_hippocampus, but none of those worlds ever need to see the specific models or links as plugin arguments. Does anyone know a convenient way around this? Like I said I’m fairly new and hopefully I’m missing an easier way to do this. I can post output if needed.

Let me ping @bperseghetti, he might have some good input.

Hi @gragleas ,
Can you confirm that the current x500 model and the default world work on gz garden after transition ign → garden?

If so, did you follow Ignition Gazebo Simulation | PX4 User Guide and in particular the sections about specifying custom worlds and models?

HI @Benja and thank you for your response,