Newbie trying to debug severe flight instability, fly-away, and crash

Hello PX4 community,

I’m new to this gig, so I need a little help debugging issues with a custom quadcopter drone. I’ve tried reading through the px4 setup documentation, but I’m a little fuzzy on a lot of details such as assessing what are good levels of vibration, etc.

Setup:

• Generic X Quadcopter Arrangement (http://www.helipal.com/storm-drone-4-pro-flying-platform-frame.html)
  • FMU: mRo Pixracer R15
  • Power supply: 3DR Power Module, APM version 4
  • Motors/ESC: Storm 2216-800kv brushless motors + 30A ESC
  • GPS: UBlox M8N GPS module
  • Battery: 3S 5100 mAh capacity LiPo
  • Manual Control: Sony PS4 Joystick/Game Controller
  • Damping mount for flight controller: http://www.helipal.com/damping-mount-for-apm-pixhack-fc.html
  • Other Setup: Connecting QGCS on my iPhone through RPi mavproxy bridge (using MAVProxy with joystick controller). RPi bridge connects to quadcopter drone through a 915MHz telemetry radio.
  • Other details: I mounted the flight controller on the top of the quadcopter frame, as I couldn’t fit it in the lower bay with the damping mount.

Flight Log: https://review.px4.io/plot_app?log=b4a07af4-97cb-4484-95f7-d6c3b6e13e48
Region of Interest: The area of immediate concern regarding the crash is from 13:06 - 13:14. I only had about 8 seconds of flight time before the crash. I am definitely sloppy with the joystick with yaw, but I left the pitch/roll controls untouched until post-crash. After taking off, I experienced a flyaway upon which I took the throttle down so as not to lose it. The copter became severely unstable on the reduced throttle and plummeted to the ground. I appears that it is over-correcting to instability, but it is hard for me to figure out.