MC/FW Blending during transition idea

Hey folks, I’ve been working on a tilting VTOL vehicle that is fairly aerodynamically sensitive during the transition, particularly when the switch from MC to FW control occurs. One of the ideas we have been toying around with to clean up our transition is to do something along the lines of allowing both the MC and FW controllers to run fully independently throughout the transition and to actually blend the attitude setpoints from each as the transition progresses (ramp down MC, ramp up FW) as an attempt to have less of an abrupt change when going from MC to FW. I think this would require a couple mods to have the MC/FW attitude controllers operate on the virtual_attitude_setpoints always and the addition of mc/fw virtual_rate_setpoints to do the same with the blending occuring in the VTOL controller during the transition. I’m no pro on control theory and am wondering if there is a fundamental flaw to attempting a scheme like this that I’m not thinking of? Thanks for any thoughts!

Hi. The current high level VTOL control architecture is depicted here.
As you can see there is always one attitude controller running at a time but the resulting rate setpoint is routed to both MC and FW rate controllers. Those rate controllers map directly to either motors for MC and control surface for FW. So currently it is possible to have both rate controllers running during the transition.

I think if you want to improve your transitions you need to look at implementing a dynamic mixer for the motors. currently the mixer matrix is constant and does not take into account the tilting of the motors.
As a result we need to do some tricks in vtol_att_control in order to avoid coupling during the transition, e.g. disable yaw control as soon as motors tilt forward.