Drone spawn position setup

Hi, I am sorrz for stupid question, but I am totally new in the field. I would like to ask how to setup drone spawning position for simulation with gazebo. I am using Ubuntu 22.04 so I use the new gazebo simulator and I am confused by the documentation.
It says ( Gazebo Simulation | PX4 User Guide) the make command make px4_sitl gz_x500 shall start the simulation. But I am able to change the location where the drone shall appear? Few lines bellow there is description how to start the simulation with some parameters Gazebo Simulation | PX4 User Guide, but I dont understand it. There is no .build folder in repo. Shall I run some make command to create a build. Can anybody, pls, provide example how to spawn a drone at specific coordinates? In old gazebo there was the possibility to use expose latitude and longitude variables. How can I achieve something like this with new gazebo?
Thanks in advance.

Hi @Lukas !
You are almost there, to use the advanced startup options you just need to compile (without running) PX4 once:

make px4_sitl

and then you can start the simulation with your customizations, like in the first example of the guide:

PX4_SYS_AUTOSTART=4001 PX4_GZ_MODEL=x500 ./build/px4_sitl_default/bin/px4

Use PX4_GZ_MODEL_POSE to set “x,y,z,roll,pitch,yaw” of the spawned drone. Note that this is the LOCAL Gazebo coordinate: the local PX4 position will always start from zero.

Hi @Benja, thank you for quick response :slight_smile:
ok, so I need to compile it first, got it, then the command for starting the simulation has to be launched from repo root folder? or from some specific folder? (not familier with the structure yet, since building it in docker)