Status Text (Notification) Box Color

Hi all,

I am very new to QGroundControl overall, but started poking around the code and compiling it myself. I have a small TCP interface that I use to connect to an ArduPilot simulator that is then connected to QGroundControl. I am able to get custom messages to pop up by sending a MAV_STATUSTEXT to the autopilot which then will send the notification to QGroundControl (as long as the severity level is at least MAV_SEVERITY_ERROR it seems).

I notice all the the notifications are the same format, with the yellow alert box. I was wondering two things:

1. Would it be possible to have the color of the alert box change based on severity of the alert? I notice there is a comment in the code:
    void UASMessageHandler::handleTextMessage(int, int compId, int severity, QString text)
    {
    // Hack to prevent calibration messages from cluttering things up
    if (_activeVehicle->px4Firmware() && text.startsWith(QStringLiteral("[cal] "))) {
    return;
    }

// Color the output depending on the message severity. We have 3 distinct cases:
     // 1: If we have an ERROR or worse, make it bigger, bolder, and highlight it red.
     // 2: If we have a warning or notice, just make it bold and color it orange.
     // 3: Otherwise color it the standard color, white.

But it doesn’t seem to be implemented? Or I haven’t seen how to do that. If someone knows how I could edit that myself, I would love to be pointed in the right direction!

1. Is there any reason as to why only severity ERROR and above is displayed? Or am I doing something wrong there?

If these features are not supported, I would definitely be willing to code up a patch myself! So if there was a procedure for me to follow to submit code for review to be included at some point that would be extremely helpful as well (I’d love to begin contributing regardless, so any information would be helpful!).