PX4: dynamic control need for a drone

Hi, dear colleges.

My name is Robin and I am doing my PhD on UAVs in France. I build my drones with raspberry Pi and pixhawks.

In terms of control a drone in the perspective of dynamics, the control inputs should be thrust force and torques, or angular velocity velocity of each motor (as there is a constant linear matrix between those two).

I found there are some discussion on this like
Thrust to throttle in /mavros/setpoint_raw/attitude
Control multicopter via thrust F and moments M

We are still trying to find a solution. If you are interested in this, let us work on that together.

3 Likes

@Quadrotor-Developer

1 Like

@robin-ecn Have you tried using the actuator_control setpoints in mavros?

@Jaeyoung-Lim Yes, this is what I am trying to do by sending commands directly to the /actuator_control through mavros.

There is not any mixer that for this purpose, this is why we discussed in the Thrust to throttle in /mavros/setpoint_raw/attitude .

I think I just need a simple mixer, identity transform, for this.

@Jaeyoung-Lim I don’t understand why you need a mixer, you simply command thrust and body torques and you define the geometry of the vehicle. Is this not enough?

@Jaeyoung-Lim, but we can not control the body torque, right? In the /mavros/setpoint_attitude, we can not control the body torque, but only the pose of the drone.

If you mean the /actuator_control, I am not sure what the attitude control set to that by the default mixer are body torques. As I read some of the attitude control.cpp, I do not think the output of the attitude control is the body torque.

This is why I calculate the angular velocity by myself and want to send it to the drone directly.

You can control the torque by /actuator_control topic. /mavros/setpoint_attitude and /actuator_control are two different topics. If you use the actuator_control you are not using the attitude controller