Pixhawk PX4 in study and research! Where to start?

Hello,
i’m a college student and i’m using PX4 for my project in my university.
In this project, i want to control my drone to go left, go right 10m,… or go to any position (without GPS and RC). So where should i start? is it offboard mode?
And i have another question. It seems that pymavlink and mavsdk are used commonly. i think that pymavlink is easier to use because its structure like Messages (common) · MAVLink Developer Guide (eg: pymavlink takeoff: the_connection.mav.command_long_send(the_connection.target_system, the_connection.target_component, mavutil.mavlink.MAV_CMD_NAV_TAKEOFF, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 10)). But if i use MAVSDK-Python, it is drone.action.takeoff(). Now, for example, if i want the drone to do the command SET_POSITION_TARGET_LOCAL_NED, i dont know how to code with MAVSDK-Python. So what library should i use for learning?
Thank you so much!

Hi there,

If you want to use position control, the drone needs to have some sort of position “sensor”, e.g. VIO, a flow board, GPS, or a motion capture system like VICON/Optitrack.
Without that, you can’t do position control but you can only do time based inputs, e.g. roll 25 degrees for 2 seconds but that will not give you good results as it will drift, and also drift with the wind.

Now regarding pymavlink and MAVSDK, I’m biased as the author/maintainer of MAVSDK, and therefore recommending MAVSDK. The main reason is that MAVSDK has been developed mainly against PX4, so things like offboard control should generally work ok…

I suggest to have a look at the MAVSDK-Python reference docs and the examples, there are some offboard ones right there.

@JulianOes thanks for your response. I’ve tried to run the mavsdk offboard example but QGroundControl said that no offboard signal and didn’t allow to change mode, COMMAND_DENINED. And then, auto disarm. Could you help me to solve this solution? Thank you