Missing functionality in ROS2 vs MavLink?

Hey all,

I’m pretty new to PX4 and MavSDK although I’ve done a good amount of ROS2. I’m trying to write some ROS2 C++ based offline control code for a glider and I’m struggling to figure out how to do with the API’s available.

Basically I want ways to do the following things:

1. get TECSStatus information on a regular basis (this helps me determine if we’ve hit an updraft/thermal)
  2. get other telemetry related to status, position, mode of operation, etc. so I can monitor what’s happening in my code.
  3. fly to a given waypoint GPS waypoint GLIDING there, and ignore altitude - stabilize only in terms of direction/course, and certainly not for altitude. (Even better if I can define an entire route to fly, but I’ll take getting to a single waypoint and manage point to point myself if needed).
  4. fly an orbit at a given radius and direction around a given GPS coordinate (again, unpowered so don’t worry about altitude, in fact I’m hoping to gain altitude by trying to circle inside of a thermal here).
  5. be able to control when the engine turns on/off (I’ll need it to do the initial takeoff and climb to altitude before gliding).

Now, digging through documentation I saw this: https://docs.px4.io/main/en/flight_modes/offboard.html#fixed-wing And in there it shows that there are MavLink messages where you can specify Position Targets and set mode options to tell it to ignore the altitude and trade altitude for forward motion (by adjusting pitch automatically). And also options for telling it to circle a point.

Unfortunately it doesn’t look like either the MavSDK nor the ROS2 message based API expose these options.

Also, really would like to be able to use that mode 292 Glide set point in the Set Position Target Global INT instead of Local NED as I’m trying to make this work for long range glides…