Drone stabilization

Hi guys,

I am having an issue with my drone. Initially my drone never lifted because it tilted immediately. I found the reason for that. My motors were not connected correctly to the PixHawk. I found out in the documentation of the pixhawk that motors need to be connected in a certain order to the pixhawk. So a few days ago I redid the wiring and the drone finally managed to liftoff. The problem I had however is that the drone seems to drift to a certain side everytime. If I lift the drone very fast then it looks to not have the drift but once I try to stay at a certain height the drone starts to move to the sides.

As I am relatively new with drones I can’t really come up with a reason for why this is happening. Calibration could be a reason but I did all the efforts in the world to do the calibration as good as possible already when I had the tilt problem before. So I don’t think that is the problem. The only other thing I can come up with is that the controller parameters maybe are not correct. I just downloaded the software of PixHawk and installed it. So I guess the controller has standard parameter values. Maybe they need to change. But I don’t know if that is common practice. Is it normal to have to adjust the standard control parameters of the pixhawk ?

If anyone can come up with another thing I could try out to eliminate this drift that would be very welcoming also.

A few questions:

• What is your Setup? Do you have a GPS? Does it show in. QGC?
  • What FlightMode are you in, when drift happens?
  • Did you calibrate the IMU?
  • Do you have any warnings in QGC when you startup the Controller?

My setup is Octo X. I do have a GPS. I am not sure if GPS is visible in ground controller. I will need to check it tonight.