Where to find custom mode list for MAV_CMD_DO_SET_MODE

I am trying to understand the offboard control example using ROS2 provided in the official docs and I came across a line of code that I couldn’t understand. The line of code is as follows:

this->publish_vehicle_command(VehicleCommand::VEHICLE_CMD_DO_SET_MODE, 1, 6);

After delving deeper into this line, I landed on this page: Messages (common) · MAVLink Developer Guide

Now my question is, where can I find the list of custom modes for param2 of the MAV_CMD_DO_SET_MODE Mavlink message?

I apologize if my question is not clearly understandable as I am a beginner in PX4 with ROS2. Thank you for your support.

1 Like

Hello, custom mode is the mod you can create.
Here is the example and also ENUM’s for other modes.
Adding a New Flight Mode to Copter — Dev documentation (for ardupilot)
Flight Modes | PX4 User Guide (px4)

Can I get more details on. 1 and 6 in that line of code

1 Like

Could you please send a file that you are referring to?

In this particular line
param1 is set 1 and param2 is set to 6
this->publish_vehicle_command(VehicleCommand::VEHICLE_CMD_DO_SET_MODE, 1, 6);

What does 1 and 6 indicate

Ok, so as you can see here:

void OffboardControl::publish_vehicle_command(uint16_t command, float param1, float param2)

we use command: MAV_CMD_DO_SET_MODE

in the structure of THIS exact command we have 3 params:

In line: this->publish_vehicle_command(VehicleCommand::VEHICLE_CMD_DO_SET_MODE, 1, 6);

We just use ENUM for VEHICLE_CMD_DO_SET_MODE (ENUM is just the variable that can be shown with name and not with nimbers just for easy use)
Next we have param 1: Mode
Mode is the vehicle mode we want, we can see here what modes we have Messages (common) · MAVLink Developer Guide
Note, that because they are combined, we cant be 100% sure what exactly does 1 mean (need to check flags).