Understanding/Modification Iris Model

I am new to the px4/gazebo, and tried a lot of internet searching but couldn’t get a proper answer. I am trying to modify the IRIS model physical parameters e.g, changing the thrust of iris motors, changing the size of the propeller, according to my drone parameters, etc, for that, I need to change physically as well as control parameters to have a balanced flight. Can you please help me to clarify which parameters do I need to change, sdf file for iris is of 700 lines and how can I understand the whole file. Is there any description/explanation for the file so that I can have a proper understanding? Also, after modification in physical parameters, which areas in px4 do I need to change so that I can have a proper flight without and imbalances? any suggestion, guidance will be much appreciated.

Regards,

@n.tufail If you are trying to understand the sdf file, you can have a look on some tutorials: http://gazebosim.org/tutorials?tut=build_model or look at the sdf specification itself: http://sdformat.org/spec

1 Like

Thanks for the response, yes your reply helped me in a way, and am already following tutorials, but my question is where could I make changes in the px4/sitl_gazebo models to set parameters of the drone according to my own drone’s parameters? In the end, I want to simulate a drone, which has parameters like weight , inertia, rotors parameters like thrust, revolution per minute, etc based on my design?

@n.tufail Yes, you can configure them in the sdf file, for e.g. you have the <intertial> tag for the intertial parameters - which is explained in the sdf specifications

1 Like