Slow oscillation on position hold

Hello,

This is my first time using optical flow for position hold and it’s mostly good, but the drone tends to move back and forth by ~20cm slowly. I’ve tried adjusting the MPC_XY_P setting but it doesn’t seem to affect it very much when I look at the logs.

Any suggestions for other parameters to try adjusting? There isn’t a lot of documentation for tuning position hold so I thought I’d ask here!

Thanks!

UAV
Quadcopter w/5" rotors
ArkFlow optical flow module
ModalAI Flight Core
Carbon fiber frame

Log: https://logs.px4.io/plot_app?log=e4338aee-9e45-433a-8f0b-97cebe45ddad

Let me ping @bresch hoping he might have some tips.

Thanks Julian, let me know if they have any ideas!

With the usual disclaimer that more information would give better background, and that I am a fairly rusty control engineer when it comes to tuning, I can make some suggestions.

I see that the noise from what I would guess is the motors (running at roughly 3000 RPM) show as vibrations on the IMU data. This is 50 Hz, which I believe is not a problem filtering out, and default filters should be doing that already.

To address the oscillations: If you don’t have excessive vibrations, and if it responds quick and firm in stabilize/altitude mode, then you can experiment with increasing MPC_XY_VEL_I_ACC (fast oscillations may be reduced by MPC_XY_VEL_D_ACC.

I like the QGC tuning interface where you can test these if you have someone that can take over in a more manual mode if it goes wrong.

Also, if you change SDLOG_PROFILE to include the High rate data, you can see better vibration related logs.

Good luck!

Thank you for the suggestions @Thouge, I appreciate you taking the time to offer advice!