Sending sensor data from Pixhawk as Mavlink packets through serial port

Hi,
I want to use a raspberry pi 4B as an onboard companion computer with pixhawk 4. I want to continuously send sensor data from pixhawk to raspberry pi. I have read about Mavros and Mavsdk, but I want to know if it is possible to send these data as Mavlink packets through a serial port without having to use the aforementioned protocols.

So what you’re saying is that you don’t want to use MAVSDK or MAVROS? If yes, I would be interested to learn why that is, or what your concerns are.

You can basically just parse MAVLink yourself like in this example:
https://mavlink.io/en/mavgen_c/#parsing-packets

@JulianOes It’s not that I don’t want to use MAVROS or MAVSDK. I wanted to learn about various available communication protocols, their benefits and the challenges associated with them. I am very new to this and different people are suggesting me different things so I thought it would be a good idea to learn about all of them and then make a sound decision.

1 Like

MAVSDK tries to give you a limited but easy to use API with various language wrappers. It abstracts away the MAVLink meta protocols like how to upload a mission or command retransmission, etc.

MAVROS on the other side is an adapter if you’re coming from the ROS side, so it makes it easier to integrate with ROS.

@JulianOes Thanks for the information. I am using MAVROS right now. Currently, I am working towards creating a new package and a ROS node which will subscribe to the sensor data (acceleration, attitude, angular rate, etc), run a h-infinity controller to compute the actuator commands, and publish these values in the actuator control topic.

2 Likes

Hi,
Could you please tell me more about your plan to use H-inf to control the drone?
Thank you