ROS2 Gazebo with px4_ros_com

Hi,

I am working towards setting up a ROS2 Eloquent, PX4 SITL, Gazebo simulation so I can fly an iris quad-copter. I have read a lot of the PX4 documentation and built much of the code including px4_ros_com.

The part I’m struggling with is working out how to connect the FastRTPS client to a drone in Gazebo. The old way of doing this in ROS was to use the MAVROS package and the Gazebo drone model included a library to exchange messages. Is there something similar for ROS2 and the FastRTPS client?

Many thanks.

Let me ping @TSC21 here.

Thanks for passing on my request.

@AndyBlight I am not sure what you are trying to achieve, but the examples that you have available in https://dev.px4.io/master/en/middleware/micrortps.html use SITL with Gazebo.

@TSC21. Thanks for getting back to me. Apologies for not being clear in my first post. I am relatively new to ROS2, PX4 and Gazebo and it is difficult to know what to ask.

What I am trying to do is to use ROS2 to fly a drone in Gazebo. Once I understand the basics, I then want to modify the drone to add several custom parts to the simulation. This may involve changing the behaviour of the drone so I need to understand the how everything fits together.

From what I have read and tried, there seem to be two well trodden paths, 1. ROS2 and Gazebo and 2. PX4, SITL and Gazebo. My guess was that I should be able to use ROS2 to talk to PX4, SITL and Gazebo as was done for ROS using MAVROS. I found px4_ros_com and it seemed to be a replacement for MAVROS but I could not a clear example of how to put it all together. I worked through all the examples in https://dev.px4.io/master/en/middleware/micrortps.html and, after spending a few hours getting it to build using ROS2 only, I was able to run the examples. However, I still could not figure out how to get a drone to fly using ROS2 to command it.