PX4 on teensy4.1

Hi,
I am brand new to PX4. Just getting started with flight controllers. My goal is to attempt to build a “glued-together” (literally) flight controller based on the Teensy4.1. I built Nuttx and successfully installed it on Teensy4.1, so the next step is to start looking at how I transition from that to a “base” PX4 port as mentioned in the Nuttx Board Porting Guide. It talks about building Nuttx with the “PX4 base layer”, but then I get lost. It points to a github repository, but I didn’t see any text that discusses how this is integrated into Nuttx.
I see there is an imxrt1062 port in the PX4 tree (fmurt1062-v1) and I was able to build that, but the IO is very different than my planned configuration.
Any pointers would sure be helpful!
Thanks

UPDATE1:
Referring to “Firmware Porting Steps” on the porting guide page, I copied the content of the fmurt1062-v1 directory to a peer directory teensyport. I was able to update firmware.prototype, but then could not find any reference to VENDOR or MODEL in default.px4board. I ignored that and just tried to run make nxp_teensyport_default menuconfig. I was able to update the board to teensy4.1 in the menuconfig gui, but when I exited, there was an error…

configuration written to .config
*** End of the configuration.
*** Execute 'make' to start the build or try 'make help'.

[8/9] Running make nuttx_menuconfig then savedefconfig for nsh
LN: include/arch to arch/arm/include
LN: include/arch/board to /include
No directory at /include
tools/Makefile.unix:273: recipe for target 'include/arch/board' failed
make[1]: *** [include/arch/board] Error 1
FAILED: NuttX/CMakeFiles/menuconfig

Looking around 273 of ./platforms/nuttx/NuttX/nuttx/tools/Makefile.unix…
@echo "LN: include/arch/board to $(BOARD_DIR)/include"
apparently BOARD_DIR is not set when that makefile is invoked.