QGroundControl UI customization

Hi All,

I’m pretty new to the drone scene, so please forgive any newbie mistakes I might (actually, will definitely) make.

I wanted to customize the UI of QGroundControl. I do not have any real idea where to start. I read the developer pages on their website here. Unfortunately, I was not able to make heads nor tails of where I am to start for this task.

I’m looking to completely overhaul the UI to use faded text, movable buttons, etc…

I have started looking into Qt and I believe I can do most of it with QML, but I needed some guidance as to where I would start modifying the UI files. Do I have to recompile the entire code or is there a directory where I can just add the modified QML files?

If someone could throw some light on to this, that would be great.

1 Like

Ok, well that’s going to be pretty involved! Qml files are compiled into resources so you need to recompile each time you change them. If you look at MainWindowInner.qml that is the starting point for the ui. From there you should be able to pull the string and work your way to all of the other parts of the ui.

Hello,

I’m also learning QML and going deep into QGroundControl. In order to customize UI, Im using:

• Qt Creator (as IDE)
  • GNU/Linux (as OS)
  • grep & find (helps a lot searching the code)

Resources for the code I use:

It is very important that you understand perfectly how C++ integrates with QML

Finnally, compile much faster with:

Thanks for the heads up @DonLakeFlyer and @chodjo.

I have just had the chance to get back to looking at this project. I got around to compiling it. Now I will start taking a look at modifying the UI.

@DonLakeFlyer, I was wondering from which file I would start modifying the UI… Thank you for the information.

Any idea on how I would change the map provider, and bring in the map that gives a 3D perspective?

Start here and follow where it goes.