VTOL Tri-Copter Torque balance mechanism

Good morning everyone.
I am trying to build a VTOL Tri-(Tilt)Rotor for university project. I am following the design given below:

The link for video is: [VTOL Tri

Rotor drone](VTOL RC Tricopter Drone - YouTube)

I am a little bit confused by the fact that this aircraft doesn’t have a tilt servo in aft. rotor in order to balance the torques. I have following questions and it would be a great help if someone answers. I am a newbie in the RC aircrafts.
Does Pixhawk support this configuration(VTOL Y3)?
-If yes, then can we change the tail configuration, on Mission planner/QGroundControl, to inverted V-tail as given in the design.
-If no, then can I use Y6 configuration(VTOL-Firefly-Y6). If so, what about torque balancing, Y6 design has no torque balancing issues, while the Y3 design that I am following has torque balancing issues. Do I have to introduce a Yaw-Tilt servo to manage the torques or can I given fixed tilt to rotor, as given in the video.
Thank you in advance. :slight_smile:

Hi @umer
Welcome to PX4 :). This configuration is no problem as we’ve just added support for the E-flite Convergence which is essentially what you need to get started. The mixer will need to be changed in order to add the V-Tail support but all the pieces to do that are there. You’ll notice that also the Convergence doesn’t have a servo on the aft motor. Yaw is controlled by tilting the front motors in opposite directions (which also compensates the torque from the motors).

• ada
1 Like

Thank you @AndreasAntener, I have ordered Pixhawk from Mrobotics, When it arrives, I will check the configuration. From your reply, I have gathered that I don’t need to have Yaw mechanism in Aft. mechanism to balance the torques. Differential motion between the front rotors will be used by pixhawk to stabilize the aircraft. Am I right?

That is correct.

• ada