Using Pixhawk to control servos

Hi there,

I’m relatively new to the Pixhawk community so I’m prone to making some mistakes, please bear with me.

I recently joined a company where, long story short, we’re trying to use a pixhawk to fly a drone with a setup that’s similar to that of a multicopter (4X to be precise). However, the motors’ speed is set by another entity. I’m trying to use the Pixhawk to emulate yaw, pitch and roll using servos attached to said rotors.

My idea at first was to use a mixer set for helicopters, as I found the multicopter one to be too restrictive. However I run into multiple issues:

If I wanna set a roll, pitch or yaw, I’m trying to combine the action of the PixHawk on 4 different servos, my mixer should look like something like this:
M:1
O: 0 10000 0 -10000 10000
M:2
O: 0 10000 0 -10000 10000
M:3
O: “”"""
M:4
O: “”"""""
S: 0 X={0,1,2} 10000 10000 0 -10000 10000
but then i can’t actually dissociate the moment when I want to go right, and the moment I want to go left

Secondly, is it possible to “trick” the Pixhawk and use its ESC commands for servos? Cause even though I’m not using in theory the right activator (motor instead of servo) i’m still manipulating the same stuff?

If the community could be so kind to help me on this one, I’d be very grateful.

Hi,

There is little difference between ESC and Servo control from the point of view of the Pixhawk. The ESC usually run at a different PWM rate that the Servo (set the correct rate with the PWM_RATE parameter), also the PWM range can vary between ESC and Servo. However your mixer seem a bit strange, maybe having more information on how your servos affect the flight would help.

Hi,
First of all, thank se for pointing out the PWM issue that I forgot about.