QGroundControl: How to Spektrum Bind when connected to Pixhawk

Hello everyone, I’m a newbie drone user and I’m trying to set up autopilot to a fixed wing plane. I have a Pixhawk 4 flight controller that I can’t quite get to work. As you can see in the picture below, I have the Pixhawk connected to QGroundControl through a telemetry module, but I can’t connect anything in the “Radio” tab of QGroundControl. I have a Spektrum receiver and transmitter (receiver is pictured in the bottom left), but putting it into bind mode like the prompt says (after clicking ‘Spektrum Bind’ then ‘DSMX 7 channels or less’), the receiver does not bind. Does anyone have any ideas to what I might be doing wrong here? Are my cables connected incorrectly is the the AR610 receiver not compatible with QGroundControl? Any help is appreciated.

Instead of fighting with it just bind it normally with a bind plug.

You need to bind it first with your Tx then you’ll need a PPM Encoder to use that receiver or just use a Satellite Rx by itself.

Good luck.

You mean use the bind plug on the receiver to connect to the transmitter? How exactly does the Spektrum Bind work, then?

[quote]You need to bind it first with your Tx then you’ll need a PPM Encoder to use that receiver or just use a Satellite Rx by itself.

Good luck. [/quote]

Alright, so would a PPM encoder like the one pictured below work, or would I need to purchase one of the first four pictured on the link you provided? I’ll provide an image of my Tx and PPM encoder below:

Thanks for the help thus far.

The Spektrum bind only works if you’re only using a satellite receiver from Spektrum or Lemon RX.

If that’s a PPM encoder, then it should work.

• So I would bind the Rx with Tx according to Spektrum process.
  • Connect the Rx to the PPM Encoder according to the appropriate pins.
  • Plug the PPM Encoder cable to the RCIN of Pixhawk
  • Calibrate the Radio per QGC procedure.

Good luck.