PX4 FMU v2 no serial console at all

Hi, Im a newbie to FMUs but a fairly experienced electronics engineer (not st devices though).

so, i have aquired a possibly faulty drone to play with, Chitwan QW350. Correction, it IS faulty, but hoping the hardware is all ok.

It uses a PX4 FMU v2 (Manufacturer is i believe GUBA), STM32F407 which seems standard.

I have loaded bootloaders seemingly successfully (i may be corrected on this) , latest being ā€œpx4fmuv2_bl.binā€ GC seems happy loading firmware too, have tried few different versions and frames.

I cant get any kind of console through any port on the board, i dont know anything much about the px4 firmware and bootloaders.

The board is on its own, no other boards or modules connected, just the fmu and power (is this the issue?)
When you power the board (usb or external) the red light is solid (power light i think), a blue light flashes at 4Hzish for 7seconds then off (red light still on). While blue led is flashing computer recognises it as a PX4_FMU_v2 and i can connect to the port albeit nothing sent out of the port, when led stops flashing the serial interface (CP210x i think) dissapears.

while in firmware update on gc ,before flashing, the port will stay open.

Should there be a console output from the bootloader under most conditions? (No SDCARD yet, before you tell me to look on there for logs as it is remote to the FMU and i have to repair the ribbon cable). Have probed all the ports, is there a command that it has to see on a port to open a console ?
If i can gain some sort of console or log then i should be able to get somewhere but i`m working blind at present. Just need a starting point.

GC and MP will not connect to it even during the 7 seconds while port is open, except to upload firmware.

Any help on this is greatly appreciated. Could be a fun little project.
Thanks.

I think the ā€˜standardā€™ processor is 427 than a 407, or just a typo?

@Andrew_Kirkham: How ā€œoldā€ is this drone of yours?