Need Help With New Airframe

Hi All,

I am new to the px4 community but definitely excited to use it for our development. We have some very cool projects we are making but I am wondering if you guys could help me out on this one.

I have a new type of aircraft we built and I am trying to get a Pixhawk to control it. It has 4 EDF’s grouped in the center for the lift. The cluster is then on a 2 axis system kind of like a gimbal to control pitch and roll ( 2 servos per axis). The balancing of the craft would come mostly from the pitch and roll axis as we want to try to keep all the EDF’s at the same RPM.

I am wondering if I could get away with using a current airframe or if I would have to make a completely new one. I am getting lost in the logic of PX4 and can’t really wrap my head around how to create a new airframe. Any help is much appreciated and we also are willing to offer some money if someone would like to take on the software of this project and help us out.

1 Like

Check out my previous post here

You will need to make your own mixer file as well as vehicle configuration.
Also check how convergence setup works.
Can you elaborate your project more details?

Hi Thanks for the response. I was able to create the files for the new airframe. I am having trouble tuning the parameters to get my airframe to fly steady. I have attached a few pictures of logs. You can see the craft gets out of control and the system does not respond. I have it set up on a tether system so as you can see I cut the power.

Also, My Pixhawk is place about 6 inches above the engines because the engines gimbal. Is this an issue or is there a parameter to correct this?

Could you attach an illustration of what your drone looks like?

Also attach a copy of your mixer file and your airframe file.

Lastly, how do you control yaw with this drone?

I will try to help you out.

I also think you will need to show us at least a piece of drawing first.