Holybro Pixhawk 4 vs CUAV Pixhack v5

Hello guys.
I am not that experienced and knowledgeable so could anyone tell me what is the difference between these flight controllers? On the paper they look the same but the biggest difference is the price. So what make CUAV Pixhack v5 so much better that the price is almost twice higher? Specification of the hardware is nearly the same - Main FMU Processor: STM32F765
32 Bit ArmÂź CortexÂź-M7, 216MHz, 2MB memory, 512KB RAM, IO Processor: STM32F100, 32 Bit ArmÂź CortexÂź-M3, 24MHz, 8KB SRAM.
As well on-board sensors: Accelerometer/Gyroscope: ICM-20689, Accelerometer/Gyroscope: BMI055, Magnetometer: IST8310, Barometer: MS5611
I see only difference in interfaces and the structure of the casing.
I am confused because I want to buy some reliable FC for my heavy quad-copter and Holybro has a good price but I don’t know about reliability and as well the power management board is not enough due to current detecting sensor is up to 120A so I guess PCB as well can take max 140A without any damage. But whole package is tempting because you get for smaller price GPS, power brick and some cables and CUAC Pixhack v5 comes naked and price is much higher.
So owners of mentioned FCs please tell me about your experiences and what would you chose for heavy-lift X4 quad which will become sooner or later X8 frame with a weight about 10 kg.
So please advise guys.

1 Like

Hi @BUZER,

I don’t know too much about Pixhawk 4 but I just received a Pixhack5. AFAIK the Differences are more likely to find in the mechanical construction. Pixhack 5 has a damped IMU Unit inside the silver cube, while Pixhawk 4 has it soldered on the main logic board.