Have i got 2 duff units? solid red on boot on one and no led at all on the other

beginner here so if anyone can help that would be apreciated.

ordered two units from bangood.

first unit does not show ANY LED light on boot but does make the usual noises but will not connect to mission planner.

unit 2 was working, but … this morning the telemetry module is locked into bootloader and the unit is showing a solid red LED and is completely unresponsive to any connection request.

both units are the 2.4.8

Those units are having problems for sure. I’d suggest re-flashing from bare metal using the STM bootloader and DFU-utils over USB. This means you will have to take them apart and track down the BOOT0 signal on the board, and short it to 3.3v while powering up the board. I’ve got a couple of the 2.4.8 boards, but I’ve never looked for the BOOT0 pad. It’s likely there are two pads next to each other that you can short with a screwdriver or something. I’ve got one at the office, and I can help you find it if you want.

I would be interested in that if you could see your way to looking for that boot 0

OK, I found the spot to activate the STM32 bootloader. I’ll post some pictures shortly and show you how it’s done. You should read up on the DFU-UTIL process in the meantime. Are you using Windows or Linux?

I made some instructions for putting the Pixhawk 2.4.8 into DFU flashing mode. See the picture here:

Once you do this, you will be able to load a binary image into the STM32 flash using a DFU-utility. The process is different depending on which OS you are using, Linux or Windows. Let me know and I’ll walk you through it.

I’m on Windows, those instructions would be very helpful to me. . . . Thank you.

OK, First you need to download the DFuse software from STMicro and install it:
https://www.st.com/en/development-tools/stsw-stm32080.html