DronecodeSDK and two Python versions?

Hello. I just listened in on the webinar "Controlling PX4 Powered Drones with the SDK. I thought is was an excellent presentation by everyone involved. I certainly learned a lot. My question involves Python. It was stated that the SDK will be using Python 3.6 and above. I assume this means that I will be developing custom missions in Python 3.6. However, everything currently in the PX4 environment is Python 2.7. That is what I planned to use for my current projects. How will using the SDK affect this, ie, will I have to deal with discrepancies between the two versions of Python? If the SDK was developed to make customized solutions easier, then please explain why two versions of Python.

Since I’m not a programmer (yet) forgive me if I am asking a question that is a non-issue.

Thanks,
Joe

Hi @Joseph_Marrone thanks for posting, can you please clarify what you mean by “everything currently in the PX4 environment is Python 2.7” what tools are you referring to?

Hello,

Do you have any link to the webinar?

thanks,

@rroche, this is the SITL system I’m building.

dronekit-2.9.1
pymavlink-2.0.6
future-0.15.2
monotonic-1.2
MAVProxy-1.7.7
Python-2.7
jMAVSim

All of the internals of this environment use Python 2.7. I don’t find any references to Python 3.

If I want to write a Python script to run the simulator, I think I have to use Python 2.7, don’t I? If not then I guess I don’t care what version I use. The SDK is going to use Python 3, so I need to understand how I can use this in a Python 2.7 environment.

@shrit, the seminar was put on by Auterion, the company Lorenze Meier co-founded and which continues to develop the open source PX4 system and its components like QGroundControl. Their website is www.auterion.com

Joe

Thanks for your answer,

I do not know if the webinar is registered on the website as a video for later. I can see it on the website, However, I will be interested if they had a talk about dronecodeSDK.