Controlling more than 8 motors simultaneously using custom mixer

Hi.

First question here and I’m still learning so please bear with me. I was wondering about the pin order of the PWM outputs on the Pixhawk for the dodeca-copter layout. I’ve been reviewing the code to the best of my ability, but from what I can see the mixer for the top and bottom rotors of the dodeca seem to be separated into two separate mixers, one using the Main outputs and the other one using the Aux outputs.

The config file “24001_dodeca_cox” in init.d (https://github.com/PX4/Firmware/blob/master/ROMFS/px4fmu_common/init.d/24001_dodeca_cox) sets the Main mixer “dodeca_top_cox” and the Aux mixer “dodeca_bottom_cox”, which both simply seem to be regular 6 input 6 output hexa-copter mixers (as generated by px_generate_mixers.py) but “inverted” in respect to each other. In conclusion the Main PWM outputs seem to be totally isolated from the Aux PWM outputs, with each output group flying one “half” each of the dodeca-copter. The PWM outputs should be ordered according to the order given in the mixer file and in the order generated by px_generate_mixers.py, right? If the Main and Aux output groups have one mixer each then that ought to mean output 1-6 Main and 1-6 Aux should be the correct ones?