Basic Questions - Pixhawk4/QGroundControl Setup + Arduino/MAVLink

Hi. I’m really new to this and struggling so I’d really appreciate some help.

So firstly, when I try to connect the Pixhawk4 to my computer, QGroundControl says “Waiting for Vehicle Connection”. I checked my Device Manager and it said “The drivers for this device are not installed”. I checked here: http://ardupilot.org/copter/docs/common-downloads_advanced_user_tools.html, but wasn’t able to successfully install the USB driver. Are there any other places I can install the driver from? I noticed a lot of people directing users to Pixhawk’s download page, but it doesn’t look like it exists anymore.

I’m also a little confused about how MAVLink works. I did read up on it, but am unsure of how to implement it on the Arduino Uno. I imported a library I cloned from GitHub and have been trying to follow this post: https://discuss.ardupilot.org/t/mavlink-and-arduino-step-by-step/25566. Am I supposed to define the types and modes for the heartbeat message and it’ll send on its own? What about for NAV commands like MAV_CMD_MISSION_START? It looks like the command is run from a ground station. The end goal is to have the Arduino trigger the Pixhawk4 to start its mission after sending the MAV_CMD_MISSION_START command.

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

There are two different flight control software stacks. PX4 and ArduPilot. This forum is for PX4. QGroundControl and Pixhawk 4 are compatible with both.

For Windows drivers, unfortunately I don’t know. @MaEtUgR might be able to help.

Do you know where I could find a USB driver for linux?

Linux doesn’t require drivers, it works out of the box.

Sorry for the delay.