Any help installing PSP + PX4 on Ubuntu 16.04?

Hello everyone,
I am a total noob to px4, psp, and the pixhawk altogether, so I apologize in advance for any dumb mistakes or questions. I recently joined a school project where we are using a pixhawk1 and want to load code onto it via simulink → psp → px4.

Using Ubuntu 16.04 and MATLAB ‘16b, I am following the “Simulink Pixhawk Support v2.1” pdf document to guide the installation of the psp and px4 toolchain. I am having lots of trouble getting this to work, as I feel the majority of the installation steps are primarily for Windows installations. I have chosen to go with Ubnutu, given that the psp website states that windows builds are no longer working.

When I went through the installation steps applicable to the Linux psps installation, I am supposed to arrive at a a point where the psp toolbox gets placed in my MATLAB/toolbox directory. After The psp toolbox is in th ematlab directory, I ashould be able to interact with the psp blocks and browse the example models that came with the psp installation.

My installation included running the commands as stated in the pdf document (with some really minor chnages, since it threw errors):

#recommended from install guide
sudo usermod -a -G dialout $USER
#install CMakeand other px4 tools
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:george-edison55/cmake-3.x -y
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install python-argparse git-core wget zip \
python-empy qtcreator CMake build-essential genromfs -y
# simulation tools
sudo apt-get install ant protobuf-compiler libeigen3-dev libopencv-dev openjdk-8-jdk
openjdk-8-jre clang-3.5 lldb-3.5 -y
#recommended from install guide
sudo apt-get remove modemmanager
sudo apt-get update
#Get python
sudo apt-get install python-serial openocd \
flex bison libncurses5-dev autoconf texinfo build-essential \
libftdi-dev libtool zlib1g-dev
#Get GCC ARM Compiler version 4.8
pushd .
cd ~
wget https://launchpadlibrarian.net/186124160/gcc-arm-none-eabi-4_8-2014q3-20140805-